Skip to main content

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Drought Designation by County

USDA #S4916 - D2D3D4 Drought Designation. The following table illustrates the designation by county information, application deadline, application instructions and other information:

USDA website for additional information on farm loans:
* * *

Letter from CalOES

April 7, 2021
Honorable John Hidahl
El Dorado County Board of Supervisors
Subject: U.S. Department of Agriculture Designation

Dear Chairperson Hidahl:
On March 5, 2021, the U.S. Department of Agriculture granted a Secretarial disaster designation for the primary counties of Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Lake, Lassen, Los Angeles, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Modoc, Mono, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Yolo and Yuba and the contiguous counties of Monterey, Orange, San Benito, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz and Ventura.

This designation is a result of the final rule announced for the USDA Disaster Designation Process (7 CFR 759), which includes the nearly automatic approval for counties with drought intensity levels of D2 (for 8 consecutive weeks), D3, and D4 as reported on the U.S. Drought Monitor.

The California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) is providing the enclosed information regarding this designation. Please inform potential applicants throughout your county of this designation and information.

(916) 845-8149 TELEPHONE; (916) 845-8395 FAX;